Gods and Pebbles

I’m laying in bed, staring at the symbol etched into the wall by a flickering candle. I have this globe that my wife gave to me as a wedding present. Underneath it and attached to the arch that holds it up is what I guess is Atlas, crouching as he holds up the world. I watched him flicker on the wall, seeming bigger as the flame gave that image life. I wondered about that man and who he was. There was religion in it somehow. Philosophy that was larger than what we could dream of. Where does man discover the concept of God? Maybe man feels that he is a god, in his best moments. Maybe a man feels like he runs the world, or only his specific world. And maybe every man has his own world that he holds up and shapes as he sees fit. So there are many different worlds. Or maybe there is a God who looks over that blue dot in the expanse of space and we’re all lost, gaping at the firmament and searching for a reason why we feel like gods at times, but at other times we feel as small as the pebble washed up on the shore.

Standard

Leave a comment